Why I Wear Makeup

Hi friends,

After reading Ellen’s (girlnextglamour) post on why she wears makeup and being a person of the internet where we are constantly bombarded with makeup do’s and don’t’s, it inspired me to write my own post on the topic. (Also be prepared: this post is full of selfies.)

IMG_2563

There are a lot of people on both ends of the spectrum when it comes to opinions on makeup. You have the people who always have makeup on (some who refuse to leave the house without it) and then you have the all natural gals who swear up and down that they’ll never wear makeup again. Of course there are people in between, which is where I think my opinion lies.

image1

Many people oppose to makeup for many different reasons. Both women and men claim the chemicals are harmful to your skin and you’re only hurting your body by wearing it. Some claim that it’s a sham and it’s a way for women to lie about what they really look like. There’s plenty of other makeup haters out there, but I think these are the two I see quite often swirling around the Internet.

image2

While some people are opposed to makeup, there are just as many people who love it! Whether it makes you happy, spruces up an everyday look or is just for fun, many people wear makeup everyday for a million different reasons.

What it really all comes down to is personal preference. While I do agree that you should love yourself for who you are should be confident without makeup, I also believe that you should be able to do and wear whatever you want!

I really do love makeup. I love trying new products and colors and trends. I’m obsessed with my Birchbox subscription and beauty guru YouTubers and bloggers. Does this make me a bad person? Absolutely not. Is this the only option? Not at all. I go out all of the time without any makeup on, but I just love the little boost makeup gives me. It’s just like putting on a fun piece of jewelry or wearing a funky outfit. It’s a way to express yourself and try something new.

image3

Whether you wear makeup or not, you should do it for you. Don’t wear makeup because you feel you like to be all natural. Wear makeup because you like to add to your already gorgeous self. Whatever you do, do it for you! Not because of what someone on the Internet tells you or because of what those around you are doing.

IMG_2595

Be you, folks! You’re beautiful however you take care of your face. 🙂

Lovingly,

Paige xx

5 thoughts on “Why I Wear Makeup

  1. hollypopmatthews says:

    I honestly feel incredibly self conscious and shy without make up! I feel like putting it on his my armour.
    I realise this probably isn’t a healthy outlook however I just love wearing make up and as long as this doesn’t cause me a problem I will continue to do so.
    Thank you for this post, people need to hear things like this!

    http://www.hollypopdoesbeauty.com xxx

    Like

    1. paige jacqueline says:

      That’s totally okay to feel that way! Makeup is supposed to be YOUR choice. There are so many things in this world that we can’t control, but how and when we wear makeup should be something we can! Keep on keepin’ on because you’re beautiful with and without it! Thanks for the feedback 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Arielle says:

    I absolutely agree with you! And I think that whatever your opinion is about makeup, you shouldn’t put it in the face of other people. I absolutely love makeup and I admire those who are natural beauty as well as those we are so talented and creative with their makeup skills. Our society is constantly comparing and judging and it is so unfortunate! Have you seen the youtube video You Look Disgusting by My Pale Skin? Very touching!

    Like

Leave a Reply

