Job Hunting as a Millennial

Hi Lovelies,

Whatever generation you are from, I’m sure you’re aware of the current struggle to obtain a full time job. While some say the job market is on the rise, others claim it’s never been harder. Political opinions aside, I’m here to say, it is incredibly difficult to get a job these days and it’s not because of a draught of positions.

photorealistic 3d sky-high future ahead street sign

The problem these days, in my opinion is technology. Now, first let me say, I am one of the last people ever to complain about technology and digital advances. I love it and I love where we’re headed. I love the fact that mundane tasks become easier, connecting with loved ones is a piece of cake and there are endless possibilities to end boredom all boppin’ around on the web. My job search is the only time I’m having an issue with technology!

download

As a millennial, I was raised in the Age of the Internet. I’ve seen the growth from dial up to wireless, the explosion of YouTube and apps for smartphones. While the job application process has become incredibly simple due to sites like Indeed.com, Monster.com, LinkedIn, etc., now more than ever personal connection still reigns supreme.

Handshake

Speaking from experience, I have probably applied to over 200 jobs since April when I returned from a year abroad. I have had a handful of phone interviews, 90 “We’ve received your application emails” and roughly 100 of my applications are lost in the oblivion of the Internet. While frustrating, I do understand this because I know how difficult it is for employers to sort through hundreds of applications for one entry level job. internet-of-things-2

Which leads us back to my point about how important personal connection is in the job hunting process in this day and age. I have found that the best way to get feedback and an opportunity for a position is reaching out to someone personally. While the best way is to reach out to professionals that you may know through someone else or even a connection from your own past, sometimes you are in a new field or don’t have that opportunity. That being said, it is important to research a company and find out ultimately whose hands you want your resume and cover letter to end up in.

Ebusiness Concept

Not only does this show you are interested in the job, but it shows that you’re willing to go the extra mile to get it. I looks much better having a cover letter that has someone in HR’s name on it rather that “To Whom it May Concern.” It takes a little extra time, but it really does make a big difference.

It also helps if you’re able to find an email address in order to directly apply for a position. It does not necessarily need to be a personal email address (although that’s great!) Even just a Jobs@____.com email address is a step in the right direction.

internet4

While I am still deep in the trenches of applying for a full time position, I have found applying in these ways, rather than on job posting sites, to be much more effective! Do you have any tips for the job hunt? Let me know in the comments below because you really can never have enough tips.

Lovingly,

Paige xx

Leave a Reply

