My July Birchbox

Greetings Interweb Lovers,

As I mentioned in a number of my previous posts, I am a HUGE Birchbox fan. I’ve been a subscriber for a couple of years now and let me tell ya, it just keeps getting better and better. The samples are larger, they’re even more personalized for what my preferences are and they seem to be getting more and more name brand products. I find myself incorporating the samples into my everyday beauty routines.

My July box was absolutely on point! I couldn’t get over the sizes of the samples they sent me. Absolutely perfect especially for summer. The box cover alone was enough to make me drool with excitement.

womens-box_logged-in

1. Stila “Look At Me” Lipstick

w_stila_sumemr2015_pdp_07_value_900x900

Although the product is sold as a trio, I received one shade as my sample. I got the “Bella” which is a bright pink. I was so excited to try it out that I didn’t even look at the description before I put it on. I originally thought it was just a normal lip gloss, but it turned out to be a matte lipstick that lasts just like a lip stain! I was shocked at how long lasting the product was and the color made it even better. It’s the perfect fun summer shade. I will definitely be purchasing the full size of this product! My only complaint is that it’s a little difficult to get off if you don’t want it on all day.

2. COOLA Classic SPF 30 Moisturizer for Face

coola_classic_spf_30_cucumber_moisturizer_for_face_900x900

This sunscreen moisturizer is the perfect face prep for everyday use. It is lightweight and smells delicious (cooling cucumber scent) so it leaves you feeling refreshed and protected rather than greasy like some other sunscreens. Since I was a kid, my pale Irish skin screams for sunscreen whenever I so much as step outside. I’ve always hated putting it on because I hate feeling like a greased pig. As I got older, I realized the importance of protecting your skin from both UVA (rays that lead to premature aging) and UVB (rays that cause burns.) This sunscreen makes it effortless to protect your skin and I recommend it to anyone who burns easily especially, such as myself.

3. Macadamia Professional Weightless Moisture Leave-In Conditioning Mist

macadamia_weightlessmoisture_leave_in_cond_mist_8.5oz_900x900

I have used a lot of leave-in conditioners. It’s one of my highest requested products in each of my Birchbox boxes. I have tons of samples on my vanity and use them all in a rotation. This month, I received the Macadamia Leave In Mist and I’ve got to say, it’s one of my favorites. Not only was the sample HUGE (i’m talkin’ almost full size peeps,) but it smells delicious! It’s very light so it doesn’t leave your hair feeling weighed down or greasy. I think the sample will probably last a long time, but I will be purchasing the full sized product for sure.

4. Kerastase Discipline Keratin Thermique

kerastase_disciplinekeratinthermique_150ml_900x900I’ve got to be honest about this one, I haven’t tried it yet. It came in one of those packet size samples so once you open it, it’s open for good and it has maybe one or two uses in it. I haven’t used it yet because it is for color treated hair. This cream is heat activated so this acts as a blow-dry primer in order to put moisture back into your hair that the color treatment may have stripped. I plan on dying my hair in the next few weeks so I’ll definitely be giving it a try. I’ve heard good things about Kerastase, so I’m excited to give it a whirl.

5. Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel

realchemistry_3minutepeel_900x900

I haven’t tried this product yet either, but I will be using it either tonight or tomorrow (I unfortunately got a little burnt this past weekend and the dreaded peeling has begun on my face!) This is an acid-free pH neutral protein peel. The special gel binds to the dead skin cells on your face and gently washes it all away, in just three minutes. It’s suitable for all skin types, which is good to know because my combination skin reacts strangely to some products. The sample size was a relatively good size depending on how much you have to use each time, but it appears that I’ll get a number of uses from it.

5. Juliette Has A Gun – Not a Perfume

juliettehasagun_notaperfume_900x900_sec_1

What a beautiful scent! “Not a Perfume” is marketed to be exactly that. While perfumes tend to have tons of different scents mixed in to create on overall aroma, this product only uses one ingredient, Cetalox. While many people (including myself!) have never heard of Cetalox, it is the background note in thousands of other perfumes. It’s completely allergen-free and a really elegant scent. I LOVE perfume so I was a little skeptical before I smelled it, but it really is a simple and wonderful smelling product. I don’t know that I would buy the full sized product because it’s a little different than what I would normally wear, but who knows! Change is good.

Well all, that was my July Birchbox! If you’re not a subscriber, I strongly recommend the subscription based beauty service. They’re really becoming more popular so the products they carry are getting better and better. You can follow Birchbox on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and more! They recommend products and show tutorials on how they are used. You can buy any of the products I mentioned above on Birchbox.com. Well done, Birchbox! You have another very satisfied customer!

Let me know in the comments if you got any keepers in your July box or if you’ve used any of the products I received.

Lovingly,

Paige xx

One thought on “My July Birchbox

Leave a Reply

